

International Conference "Figures of Fiction IV"

Following previous initiatives, the Center for Portuguese Literature/FCT of the University of Coimbra, Portugal, announces an International Colloquium "Figures of Fiction IV", to be held November 4th and 5th, 2013. This event aims to further the research project "Figures of Fiction" ("Figuras da Ficção", in the original Portuguese title), whose main objective is the study of characters as a fundamental category of literary discourse. Furthermore, the project "Figures of Fiction" also encompasses trans-literary relationships that these discursive figures embrace, taking into consideration the existence of fictional characters in other contexts, in particular the non-literary (http://www.uc.pt/fluc/clp/inv/proj/litpor/figfic).

The International Colloquium "Figures of Fiction IV" will consist of four keynote addresses by Fotis Jannidis (Univ. of Würzburg), Jens Eder (Univ. of Mannheim), Jorge Urrutia (Univ. Carlos III, Madrid) and Ofélia Paiva Monteiro (Univ. of Coimbra), and a dozen conference participants on panels. Interested participants should send an abstract to the Organizational Committee of the conference, in one of the following areas:

- Characterization of personages: discursive techniques, fictional contexts, rhetorical devices, cognitive effects.
- Characters beyond literary narratives: television and cinema
- Other approaches: comparative studies, post-colonial studies, cultural studies, feminist studies.
- Fictional characters in electronic context: hypertext, hypermedia, hyperfiction.
- The portrayal and transformation of fictional characters in the context of the media.

The deadline for abstracts is September 30, 2013. Proposals should be sent to <u>clp@ci.uc.pt</u> and need to include a title, summary, and academic affiliation. Non-presenters can register until October 15, 2013 by sending an email to <u>clp@ci.uc.pt</u> and paying the registration fee in the amount of 20 Euros.

Papers can be presented in Portuguese, English, French and Spanish.

Organizational Committee:

Carlos Reis (org.) António Apolinário Lourenço Maria Helena Santana Maria João Simões Maria Teixeira Anacleto